Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So this past week has been very interesting.

Monday, my class was in Stockholm on a field trip, so I had a bit more free time, which was nice. However, while working in the math office, I got called into one of the adjoining classrooms where an English lesson was taking place – apparently there was a beeping noise going on, that the teacher was trying to track down. I knew something was up, because a kid commented “oh well maybe it was the fire alarm” when the teacher was explaining what happened to me…Speaking to the students later during lunch, they told me that they *hate* the English teacher, and so had decided to play a rather devious prank on him. They had placed a key finder that beeps when you whistle, or just speak in a really high pitch, on top of the projector in the classroom. So whenever the teacher told everyone to be quiet so he could try and track it down, it would stop beeping…

On Tuesday, the kid found out I had “snitched” on him (although I didn’t break my promise, because I only promised not to tell his English teacher, but I told his mentor’s wife instead…) and was very indignant. He also remarked on the amount of trouble he had gotten into. As we were joking around and having this conversation, one of this boy’s friends goes “ok, ok….it’s ok, now kiss and make up” and the two of us looked at him and went “ewww….gross” haha and then the student who I “snitched” on said “what? it’s because I’m black isn’t it” (a favourite of the kids here…everything is “because I’m black”) and I was like “ummm noooo…I’m a teacher, and even if I wasn’t, how old are you again?” and he replied with “old enough!”  – cheeky little thing… Also, earlier in the day, some of the boys from the same English class came to hang out with me in my math lesson. I said they could come in as long as they were quiet and didn’t disturb the lesson – which they didn’t. =) woohoo.

Tuesday – Thursday we had some interesting interactions with a kid. So on Tuesday, one of the other staff members had this kid tell her that she could only have the whiteboard marker back if she gave him a kiss and let him touch her boobs…which he guessed were very soft…on Wednesday the same kid continued his behaviour by asking me for kisses, and commenting in math class that he would like to slap my a**. Thursday, during class, he decided to give me a condom, telling me to have a safe weekend…Unfortunately, condoms are wrapped differently here, so I had no idea what it was, so I just tossed it to the teacher who was observing the class and was like “I have no idea what it is, can you hold on to it for me?” really telling him to please give it to administration later…but not actually being able to say that in front of the class…And then he told me it was a condom…fail. But then! the kid asked for his condom back, saying that he would use it more than me anyways (which, at least was a fair assessment on the situation…) but I told him he couldn’t because it was just rude to take back gifts…

On Wednesday, I had a meeting with the principal and assistant principal. They told me not to work hour after hour, and that some students thought I went too fast in class…and that they heard that I smile a lot and that I am very cheerful, and that some students had interpreted this as me not caring about them when they told me they had difficulties with a subject…

Thursday, my class had people from the community come and have a sex talk with them…they handed me a bag of condoms and told me to give it out to them when we discussed sex…I just passed them to their science teacher…

we also had a fire alarm, which was not a drill, but someone just needlessly pulled it. Which meant we all went outside, and I got to watch my super talented comentor try to take attendance for our class with another class’ class list…after I had already taken attendance, and handed in the form…that was interesting…She also was nowhere to be found other than when she was trying to take attendance with the wrong list…no clue where she went, or where she was…thankfully another teacher helped me out =)

OH! and in that same class with Mr. Condom, I had a group of guys draw a rather disgusting picture with a bunch of stick figures having sex…just rude. So I took it out of their book and passed it to the same teacher to pass to administration. Then I talked to the mentors, one mentor was lovely and said that he would talk to the boys about it, the other said she didn’t see anything wrong with boys drawing sex pictures in their math books, and that it is my duty to remind them to stay on task…but that the drawing itself wasn’t inappropriate…not that she SAW the drawing…just rude.

and on Friday, I found out a class thinks I hate this one kid, because I kept telling him, and not others, to be quiet. Which I did because he was just so loud, I couldn’t think anymore when I was trying to explain things…and then when he was putting something on the board, I was concentrating on what he was putting up on the board, and I wasn’t smiling…and apparently I look really pissed when I’m not smiling (people back home have said the same thing), so now they all think I hate him… o_0…so now I have to go clear that up on Monday….

AND THAT! was my super fun week =P