Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am so sorry for neglecting this…although I don’t think too many people read it, so it’s not all that bad I suppose.

The last few weeks have been crazy. Sorry. 

Let’s see…I have a student in one of my classes who is giving everyone else a run for their money. I like him a lot though, he’s hilarious, and a bit of a handful, but such a sweet kid. He reminds me of a student back home who had ODD and ADHD combined, and treating him like that has been going well for me. There are some teachers who are real sticklers for the rules though, and that hasn’t been going so well for them – especially with the ODD tendencies that he has…

I’ve put out fires in the school – 2 tiny ones. Some grade nines set some paper towels on fire in the hallway, which I saw when I came out of my office, so I had to throw them in the sink and start the tap…and then had to tell the discipline officer about the fires and stuff. Him and some admin people investigated and figured out who it was – I wasn’t surprised when they told me…

We thankfully also have someone helping out now with our mentor class, and that’s been going well, although my co-mentor is a bit out there…like crazy still out there…the guy who is helping us pretty much runs the school in terms of non-academics, and he was away for a week and half. This was announced in various staff meetings, and every day on the cover list, and yet when it came time for our mentor meets, she was flabbergasted that he wasn’t there and seemed a bit clueless as to what to do with her kids…

I made all my girls journals though – and they’re delightful =) I had to have the shop teacher help me with them. We drilled (ha! He drilled…) holes into all of them so I could thread some ribbon through them to bind them properly, and then I also superglued a ribbon with a bead at the bottom so that it had a ribbon bookmark. After that, I wrote all their names in permanent gold ink and decorated it in silver =) The notebooks were black…they seemed to really like them. I have others in the class (those who aren’t mine) asking if they’ll get one and I have to keep telling them that their main mentor will decide that…She already said that she isn’t going to do that.

What else….oh! we had some CRAZY meetings…just a bunch of them. Teacher mentor conferences took forever…Kinda interesting though, to just sit there and me and the other grade 7 math teacher was just like …so this list (which usually was made up of about 1/2 the class) has all the students I’m worried about…and when they asked why I had to explain how some students could not add. Like “5 + 3 = 8…we can see this by taking my 5 fingers here *puts up 5 fingers* and my 3 fingers here *puts up 3 fingers* and counting them….” Sadly some students did not get that…I was very happy for my bored ones, seriously in grade 7, you should be bored when I’m doing addition with you. =) So yes…that was interesting.

We also had to do this reports that took SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO long, and were SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO useless….seriously. Ugh. Dislike.

AND!!! I had this student who failed his assessment throw a tantrum in class when I explained the re-test contract to him. When I mentioned the discipline officer, who is also helping me out with my class, he got all angry and said “you can’t go around throwing his name around” and ripped up the retest contract and was all upset…only to quietly come to me 2 minutes later and ask for a new contract…

One of the grade 7s has also started calling me “mon chou chou” which, in French, is a term of endearment. That was great to have his mentor explain why that might be a bit inappropriate…

My friend is dead according to the bank here – that was kinda interesting. AND! he lost his passport, which thankfully some students found and turned into the police, 3 days before his trip to Amsterdam =)

AND! I got moved up a level for SFI, AND! I went to a math conference all in Swedish =) That was cool.

Ummm…oh man, off the top of my head I can’t think of much else…if you have questions though, ask me =) That’ll make things easier =D

