Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hi Everyone,

So sorry for being a butt and not posting in a super long time! =S So this is going to be a rather disorganized “look at everything that happened in whatever order I think of it!” post… Sorry.

Let’s see…from the last time I wrote, I’ve been to Canada, and back. That was awesome. I got to see my family, friends, and I paid a visit to my old school. My brothers tried to teach me how to snow board =) Which was a lot of fun, and dad, the boys and I went to Lakeridge twice – which was super nice of the boys since everything was waaay too easy for them there =P

Once I got back, I moved apartments, so I’m no longer in the super sketchy part of town, just a sketchy part. Well, the creepy, knife wielding people stay outside of the building at least, so that’s nice, and I’ve been to Ikea, and attempted to straighten up my apartment (it’s still kinda chaotic…). The people who helped me move were super flabbergasted as to how I own so much clothes…and as one of my fellow teachers commented after seeing all of my shoes “why do you have a whole closet of shoes, but whenever I see you, you’re wearing those!” as he points to my rather unimpressive, dirty, old white runners…

Development Talk Reports were due – which are these really long things we fill out for every student. We click a bunch of boxes about what is roughly the equivalent of “study skills” back home and give a “grade-like judgement” on where they stand in the course right now, as well as what they are doing well, and what they could improve on, and how we, as teachers, will support them. Then the students read these, reflect on them, pick subjects that they would like to work on specifically and make these their goals – which we check up on later with them. At least that’s the rationale behind it. Realistically, very few students take it seriously….

I remember having to do it in school, and thinking it was pretty much a waste of time…

I’ve also had some *lovely* student interactions…calling the y-intercept the y-intercourse…having a student steal my scarf, and then give it back by wrapping it around my neck…that was awkward…ummm…what else?

One of my students have been put into foster care, so pray for them please, and another’s mom has come back from a month long vacation and they’re not adjusting too well to being back with them – they were happier staying with their friend’s family who took better care of them – so pray for them too please!

OH! there is SUN now! That’s always nice…

AND! I’m getting moved up a level in my Swedish for Immigrants course…not entirely sure why because I still don’t know Swedish…but w/e, at least I won’t be with the creepy teacher who told me he could always come over and massage me to sleep if I was having problems sleeping at night…yeah, Sweden can be a little creepy…

AND! I’m going to go try baking pie pops in a bit =D so check my facebook I suppose to see if those turn out alright sometime this week =)

Oh, and I learned that when I talk about “the fly” and I mean swimming, other people don’t think of the same thing…so saying “So I was checking out this guys’ fly and I figured out why it was so weird” does not leave a good impression in people’s mind. When they ask “why were you staring at his pants?” and you reply “what pants? he wasn’t wearing pants! don’t be silly” this does not help the situation…

 

